Events & Forums

Screening of Darrell Jones’s Hoo-Ha (for your eyes only)


November 3−November 4, 2017

The dancer and choreographer Darrell Jones has developed an innovative style inspired by voguing, a dance movement that spread in the gay club scene.

Exploring his own identity in his work, Jones has refined a unique form of physical expression based on sexual stereotypes and repression.

Although audiences at Kyoto Experiment 2017 were unfortunately unable to see the latest work of Darrell Jones live due to the unavoidable cancellation of CLUTCH, this screening of a previous dance piece offers the chance to experience a superb example of his highly original style.
Dates: November 3 (Fri), November 4 (Sat) 20:00−21:00
Venue: North Hall, ROHM Theatre Kyoto (13 Okazaki Saishoji-cho, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto >>Access
Free admission
No reservation required
Screening: Hoo-Ha (for your eyes only) (2013 premiere)
Presented by Kyoto Experiment


Darrell Jones

Darrell Jones has performed in the United States and abroad with a variety of choreographers and companies such as Bebe Miller, Urban Bush Women, Ronald K. Brown, Min Tanaka, KOKUMA Dance Theater, and Ralph Lemon. Along with performing Darrell continues to choreograph and teach. He has collaborated with other choreographers (Paige Cunningham, Lisa Gonzales, Damon Green, Angie Hauser, JSun Howard, Kirstie Simpson, Jeremy Wade), writers (Cheryl Boyce-Taylor), musicians (Jessie Mano, Brian Schuler, Justin Mitchell) and designers (Mawish Syed) in dance films, documentations and interactive multimedia installations.
Darrell has received choreographic fellowships from MANCC (Maggie Allesee National Center for Choreography), CDF (Chicago Dancemakers Forum) (2006) and is a two time Bessie award recipient (2005 and 2013) for his collaborative work with Bebe Miller Company and his most recent research in (e)feminized ritual performance. Darrell has also taught workshops and master classes in dance technique and improvisational processes throughout the United States and in other countries such as South Africa, UK, and South Korea.